Frequently Asked Questions

What is the label?

The label "Made in Luxembourg" consists of a name and a logo. It is a brand initiated in 1984 by the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs, the Chamber of Commerce and the Chamber of Skilled Trades and Crafts. Its aim is to establish the Luxembourgish origin of products and services.

Most frequently asked questions

  1. 1. Is my company affiliated to the Chamber of Commerce or to the Chamber of Skilled Trades and Crafts?

    The affiliation depends on your activity. If your business is in the skilled trades and craft sector, you are affiliated to the Chamber of Skilled Trades and Crafts. If not, you are affiliated to the Chamber of Commerce.
    In case of doubt, please contact us.

  2. 2. What are the requirements to obtain the label?

    The label “Made in Luxembourg” can only be used to identify Luxembourgish products or services. This means that only goods entirely manufactured in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg or those whose last or substantial transformation has been processed by a supplier and within a company based in Luxembourg that is equipped for that purpose in accordance with the EC No 450/2008 regulation of the European Parliament and of the Council of 23 April 2008 establishing the Community Customs code, can be considered as Luxembourg products.

    Services “Made in Luxembourg” may be recognized as such, if they are supplied by a regular provider established in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, with a fixed place of operation. If the service provided is limited to the assembly of imported goods, to the design and the product development, as well as the providing of advice, the provider must demonstrate a particular skill, or apply professional rules that are specific to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, in order to offer valuable and acceptable criteria. Have a look at our regulations.

  3. 3. Is the label valid for a ‘life-time’?

    If your company is granted the label for your products or services, it will receive a certificate officially authenticating that it is authorized to use the label “Made in Luxembourg” if it respects the regulations for use and control. This certificate is only valid 5 years. After that, verification will be made. If you introduce any new product or service, another application form has to be filled out.

  4. 4. How much does the label cost?

    If you are awarded the original label and its certificate by the Chamber of Commerce or the Chamber of Skilled Trades and Crafts, you are required to pay an one-off amount of 150 EUR only once. Your company will be asked to transfer this amount either to the Chamber of Commerce’s account or on the Chamber of Skilled Trades and Crafts’ account after the delivery of the invoice receipt. Regarding the admission fees, please note that the Chamber of Commerce or the Chamber of Skilled Trades and Crafts can raise the amount.

  5. 5. What do I have to prepare for the visit?

    Best case scenario, you should prepare documentation describing your activities as well as any information you find worth showing to complete your request.

  6. 6. Can I apply for the label if I belong to neither the Chamber of Commerce nor the Chamber of Skilled Trades of Crafts?

    No, the label is only granted to companies belonging to one of the chambers.

  7. 7. How much time does it take to get an answer after the application request has been sent?

    Generally between 1 or 2 weeks.

  8. 8. How do I display the label?

    The label has to be in black font on a white background according to the criteria found in article 1 of the regulations for use and control.

  9. 9. What is the added–value for my company once the label is granted?

    The label helps to make the difference on national and international markets.

Regulations

The label helps to make the difference on national and international markets.

Foire aux questions

Qu'est-ce que le label ?

Le label « Made in Luxembourg », constitué d’un nom et d’un logo, est une marque enregistrée depuis 1984 sur initiative du Ministère des Affaires Étrangères, de la Chambre de Commerce et de la Chambre des Métiers qui sert à identifier l’origine luxembourgeoise des produits et services.

Les questions les plus souvent posées

  1. 1. Ma société est-elle affiliée à la Chambre de Commerce ou à la Chambre des Métiers ?

    L’affiliation dépend de votre activité. Si votre entreprise est active dans l’artisanat, vous êtes affilié à la Chambre des Métiers. Sinon, vous êtes affilié à la Chambre de Commerce. En cas de doutes, contactez-nous.

  2. 2. Quels produits ou prestations de services se voient attribuer le label ?

    Le Label luxembourgeois d’origine ne peut être utilisé qu’en relation avec des produits ou des prestations de services luxembourgeois. Peuvent être reconnues comme produits luxembourgeois, les marchandises entièrement obtenues au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg ou celles dont la dernière transformation ou ouvraison substantielle, économiquement justifiée, effectuée par un prestataire luxembourgeois dans une entreprise luxembourgeoise équipée à cet effet et ayant abouti à la production d’un produit nouveau ou représentant un stade de fabrication important a eu lieu au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg, le tout conformément au règlement CE no 450/2008 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 23 avril 2008, établissant le code des douanes communautaire.

    Peuvent être reconnues comme prestations de services luxembourgeoises, les prestations de services entièrement effectuées par un prestataire régulièrement établi au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg et y disposant d’un lieu d’exploitation fixe. Si la prestation de service se limite à l’assemblage ou au montage de produits importés, à la conception et au développement d’un produit ainsi qu’à la fourniture de conseils, le prestataire doit justifier un savoir-faire particulier, ou le respect de règles professionnelles qui sont propres au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg, et qui constituent une des caractéristiques particulières de ladite prestation de service. Consultez notre règlement.

  3. 3. Le label est-il valable « à vie » ?

    Si votre société se voit octroyer le label pour un produit ou service, elle recevra un certificat attestant officiellement qu’elle est autorisée à utiliser le label “Made in Luxembourg” conformément au règlement d’usage et de contrôle et notamment pour les produit(s) et service(s) qui ont fait l’objet de l’attestation. Ce certificat est valable 5 ans. Après 5 années, une vérification sera effectuée. Pour tout ajout d’un produit ou service supplémentaire à la liste des produit(s) et service(s) bénéficiant du label, une nouvelle demande doit être introduite.

  4. 4. Quelle est la plus-value du label pour mon entreprise ?

    Le label vous sert à vous différencier sur le marché national et international.

  5. 5. Est-ce que je peux faire une demande pour le label si je ne suis ni ressortissant de l'une ou de l'autre chambre ?

    Non, le label est octroyé uniquement aux ressortissants d’une des deux chambres.

  6. 6. Combien de temps faut-il pour avoir une réponse après introduction de la demande ?

    Généralement, il faut compter 1 à 2 semaines.

  7. 7. Comment est-ce que je dois afficher le label ?

    Le label doit s’afficher noir sur blanc selon les critères de l’article 1er du règlement d’usage et de contrôle.

  8. 8. Combien ça coûte pour obtenir le label ?

    L’attribution du label d’origine et du certificat par la Chambre de Commerce ou par la Chambre des Métiers engendre le paiement d’un montant de 150 EUR, payé lors de chaque demande. Votre entreprise s’engage à virer ce montant sur un des comptes de la Chambre de Commerce ou de la Chambre des Métiers après réception de la facture. La Chambre de Commerce et la Chambre des Métiers se réservent le droit d’augmenter le montant forfaitaire des frais d’administration.

Règlement

Le règlement a pour objet de définir les conditions et modalités d’exploitation de la marque collective “MADE IN LUXEMBOURG”, désignée “Label luxembourgeois d’origine”.